Skip To Main Content

1973 - 1998

  • President: Gordon MacKenzie (VC 1953)



  • President: Br. Garland Lyons (VC 1928)



  • After another period of dormancy, John Rogers (VC 1968) takes over as President and starts monthly meetings with a Board composed of representatives from five decades to help drive engagement and participation: Maury Mulhern (VC 1946), Br. Ron Mackenzie (VC 1950), Jack Dumont (VC 1959), Duke Dukowski (VC 1965), Rich Gorman (VC 1968), Dave Mills (VC 1972), Matt MacNeil (VC 1978), and Ray E. Torresan (VC 1980).



  • The Alumni Association helps to organize the school’s Diamond Jubilee Dinner at the Italian Cultural Centre, attended by over 1,000 guests. This is one of the largest VC events held in school history.



  • Long-time teacher and VC sports enthusiast, Jim Canil, organizes one of the longest running Alumni events, the Alumni Football Game, typically held in the Spring at Mayfair. Originally played with full pads and helmets, the annual game pits alumni against Grade 12 football players. Now a flag football game, the winning team is awarded the Jim Canil Trophy.



  • The Emerald Award, recognizing notable alumni for service to the school, is launched this year with Jimmy O’Hagan (VC 1925) as the first inductee under the category of Builder. Future award recipients include Bill Cunningham (1926), Most. Rev. James Carney (VC 1933), John Harrison (1936), Jack Mills (VC 1944), Alf Clarke (VC 1945), Maury Mulhern (VC 1946), and Br. Wayne McIntyre (VC 1946).

    Additional alumni activities are initiated such as an Alumni Doubles Tennis and Racquetball Tournament, a 10 km run, Alumni Basketball games, and cocktail receptions.



  • After re-starting in 1981 with 25 listed members, membership of the Alumni Association grows to over 1,800 members.

    President: Joe Doyle (VC 1981)



  • President: Bryan Cousineau (VC 1962)



  • President: Jack Dumont (VC 1959)



  • President: Chris Lane (VC 1957)



  • President: John Mills (VC 1968)